Celebrating the Class of 2024

Congratulations, Class of 2024!

On Sunday, May 12, students and their guests gathered at the Rocco B. Commisso soccer stadium at the Baker Athletics Complex for Graduate Class Day.

Entrepreneur Kittu Kolluri, founder and managing director of Neotribe Ventures, addressed the Class of 2024, along with Graduate Class Day Speaker Phillipe Wyder. For the first time, doctoral students participated in a hooding ceremony to mark their achievement. 

On Monday, May 13, seniors and their guests heard from Senior Class President Stella Lessler, Valedictorian Andrei Corman, and Class Day speaker, alum and Disney Imagineer, Lanny Smoot BS’77, MS’78. 

At the events, faculty were also honored with Columbia University and Columbia Engineering Awards.

Dean Shih-Fu Chang addressed both Class Day audiences and charged students to be ambassadors for Columbia Engineering on whatever path they chose to follow.

The challenges of our time may be overwhelming. But the spirit of a Columbia Engineer is deeply optimistic. It looks for solutions. It is curious, as well as creative, with equal emphasis on responsibility, ethics, and integrity. As 21st-century engineers, you are prepared to draw on your technical expertise and broad knowledge to develop solutions that will have a positive impact.

Shih-Fu Chang

Undergraduate Class Day 2024

Graduate Class Day 2024

Watch the Class Day Livestream

Student Award Winners

Zvi Galil Award for Improvement in Engineering Student Life
American Society of Civil Engineers

Bernard Jaffe Prize for the Encouragement of Inventiveness in Engineering
Aunika Zheng

School of Engineering and Applied Science Scholar Athlete Award
Sameer Saxena

Campbell Award
Matthew Werneken

School of Engineering and Applied Science Student Activities Award
Kosisochukwu Ugorji

Thomas "Pop" Harrington Medal
Yusuf Hafez

George Vincent Wendell Memorial Award
Marian Abuhazi

Robert D. Lilley Award for Socially Responsible Engineering
Columbia Space Initiative: Outreach Mission

Morton B. Friedman Memorial Prize for Excellence
Keyon Vafa 

Graduate Student Life Leadership Awards
Amulya Elamanchili 
Keerthi Sravan Ravi  

Graduate Speaker
Philippe Martin Wyder 

Valedictorian and Illig Prize
Andrei Coman

Tina Mengting Liu

Faculty Award Winners

CEAA Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award
Lauren Heckelman, Lecturer in the Discipline of Biomedical Engineering

Shaina Kelly, Assistant Professor of Earth and Environmental Engineering

Presidential Teaching Award Winner
David Yao, Piyasombatkul Family Professor of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research

Faculty Service Award
Elisa Konofagou, Robert and Margaret Hariri Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Radiology (Physics)

Edward and Carole Kim Award for Faculty Involvement
Kathleen McKeown, Henry and Gertrude Rothschild Professor of Computer Science 

Janette and Armen Avanessians Diversity Award 
Ngai Yin Yip, Lavon Duddleson Krumb Assistant Professor of Earth and Environmental Engineering