Harish Krishnaswamy Wins Outstanding Young Engineer Award

Nov 02 2018 | By Rosa Fernandez | Photo Credit: Timothy Lee Photographers

Electrical Engineering Prof. Harish Krishnaswamy has been named the 2019 Outstanding Young Engineer by the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S). This award is considered the highest honor for young MTT-S members, based on distinguished technical achievements and exemplary service to the organization, and Krishnaswamy is the first faculty member from Columbia Engineering to receive it.

Harish Krishnaswamy

“We are very proud of Professor Krishnaswamy’s leadership in the field of RF and microwave engineering,” says Peter Kinget, Bernard J. Lechner Professor and chair of Electrical Engineering. “He has quickly become a leader and is making his mark in wireless communications, and it is nice to see that he is being recognized by the IEEE MTT society."

Krishnaswamy was honored for original and important early career contributions in integrated electronic technologies. His research focuses on integrated circuits and systems that span a wide range of topics, from radio-frequencies to millimeter-wave, terahertz and optical frequencies—as well as a broad set of applications, including communications, imaging, and sensing.

Additionally, as director of Columbia’s CoSMIC lab, Krishnaswamy has made pioneering contributions to high-power and energy-efficient millimeter-wave circuits and systems. He has developed radios that can transmit and receive at the same time at the same frequency, thus promising to double the capacity of wireless networks, and to integrated non-magnetic non-reciprocal components. Students from the CoSMIC lab have gone on to faculty positions at top universities, including MIT and University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, as well as to research positions at top industrial research labs.

The MTT-S promotes the advancement of microwave theory and its applications by supporting the professional development of its members worldwide.

Krishnaswamy will be honored during the annual IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Symposium Awards Banquet in June 2019.

Before and since joining Columbia’s electrical engineering department faculty in 2009, Krishnaswamy has received numerous awards, including a Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Young Faculty Award in 2011 and the 2014 IBM Faculty Award.

He currently serves as a distinguished lecturer for the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society and as a member of the DARPA Microelectronics Exploratory Council.

Stay up-to-date with the Columbia Engineering newsletter

* indicates required