Read about Columbia Engineers; recent awards, recognitions, and accomplishments.

May 24 2016

Recent awards, recognitions, accomplishments

Sunil Agrawal, professor of mechanical engineering, has been selected to receive the 2016 DED Mechanisms and Robotics Award. The award will be presented at the 2016 IDETC Mechanisms and Robotics Conference in Charlotte, NC. Agrawal also was recently inducted into the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

Chemical Engineering Professor Scott Banta has received the James M. Van Lanen Distinguished Service award. The award recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions to the ACS Division of Biochemical Technology through committed and sustained service. Banta has also recently been inducted into the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

Kartik Chandran, professor of earth and environmental engineering, has joined the editorial team at Chemical Engineering Journal. The journal focuses on three aspects of chemical engineering: chemical reaction engineering, environmental chemical engineering, and materials synthesis and processing.

Clark T. Hung has received the ORS Marshall R. Urist, MD Award of the Orthopaedic Research Society. This award honors an investigator who has established him/herself as a cutting-edge researcher in tissue regeneration research and has done so with a sustained ongoing body of focused research in the area of tissue regeneration as it relates to the musculoskeletal system. Hung was presented with the award March 7 at the society’s annual meeting, held in Orlando, FL.

A paper by Christopher Jacobs, professor of biomedical engineering, has been selected for the Skalak Award as the Best Paper in the Journal of Biomedical Engineering in 2015. The paper is titled, “Epigenetic Changes During Mechanically Induced Osteogenic Lineage Commitment.” (Chen JC, Chua M, Bellon RB, Jacobs CR)

Steven Sabbagh, senior research scientist and adjunct professor in the Department of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics, along with plasma colleagues Jack Berkery and Holger Reimerdes, has been awarded the 2016 Landau-Spitzer Award. The award is given jointly by the American Physical Society and the European Physical Society to recipients for their outstanding theoretical, experimental or technical contribution(s) in plasma physics. Awardees have the opportunity to give an invited talk at the EPS 43rd Conference on Plasma Physics, July 4-8, in Leuven, Belgium.

Electrical engineering alumnus Alan Willner PhD’88 was recently elected to the National Academy of Engineering. Willner is the Steven and Kathryn Sample Chair in Engineering in the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering at USC and also serves as adjunct senior research scientist at Columbia Engineering.