Julia Hirschberg Elected to American Philosophical Society

May 07 2014 | By Holly Evarts | Photo: Eileen Barroso

Julia Hirschberg, Percy K. and Vida L. W. Hudson Professor of Computer Science and Department Chair, has been elected to the American Philosophical Society (APS), in recognition of her contributions to spoken language processing. She is one of 33 scientists, humanists, social scientists, and leaders in civic and cultural affairs elected to APS this year, including Jill Lepore, James Levine, Alice Waters, and Rem Koolhaas.

“I’m delighted and very honored to be joining such a distinguished group,” says Hirschberg. “I am definitely looking forward to the APS meetings.

Founded by Benjamin Franklin in 1743, APS’s mission is to promote useful knowledge in the sciences and humanities through excellence in scholarly research, professional meetings, publications, library resources, and community outreach. Only 5,474 members have been elected since its founding.

APS members are nominated by current members and have included a broad range of illustrious scholars and national leaders, from George Washington, John Adams, and Thomas Jefferson to John James Audubon, Charles Darwin, Louis Pasteur, Thomas Edison, Marie Curie, Linus Pauling, Margaret Mead, and Robert Frost. Contemporary luminaries include Warren Buffet, Juan Carlos of Spain, Jimmy Carter, and Neil Armstrong, and Columbia members University President Lee C. Bollinger and Professors Joseph Stiglitz and Eric Kandel.